Faculty of Science and Engineering Awards


Faculty of Science and Engineering Awards

Headline: The outstanding contributions made by academics, professional service staff and students to learning, teaching and research in the Faculty of Science and Engineering have been recognised at an awards ceremony.

The aim of the awards is to recognise the hard work done by individuals and groups across the faculty over the last 12 months. The categories recognise established and early-career researchers, people in leadership roles, students and colleagues from other areas of the university who make a contribution to the faculty.

The winners were nominated by colleagues and presented with their awards by Professor Graham Scott, Interim Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering. Dr David Richards, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise, and Professor Becky Huxley-Binns, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Education, attended the ceremony.

Professor Scott said: “These awards show that our staff care about the student experience and go above and beyond to make it the best it can be. They are passionate about their research and the value it brings to the university and society.”

The full list of winners are below:

Learning and Teaching Awards 2019


Outstanding Scholarship in Learning and Teaching

Dr Katharine Hubbard (Biological and Marine Sciences)


Outstanding Contribution to Teaching

Dr Julia Affolderbach (Geography, Geology and Environment)

Dr Stuart McLelland (Geography, Geology and Environment)


Outstanding Practice in Assessment and Feedback

Michael O’Neill (Mathematics and Physical Sciences)


Outstanding Contribution to the Student Experience made by Students of the Faculty

Kate Womack

Jessica Clunan


Outstanding Contribution to the Student Experience (by staff)

Bianca Moone (Careers Adviser and Internship Officer)


Outstanding Early Career Academic

Dr Dom Henri (Biological and Marine Sciences)

Dr Nicky Dobson (Biological and Marine Sciences)


Outstanding Contribution to the Student Experience (by staff) AND Outstanding Contribution to Teaching

Dr Sue Hull (Biological and Marine Sciences)

Research Awards, 2018-19


Outstanding Research Collaboration:

Dr Jay Wadhawan (Chemical Engineering)

Professor Nicole Pamme (Chemistry)

EXTRA AWARD: The Research Funding Office.


Outstanding Published Output

Dr Katerina Wollenberg Valero (Biology and Marine Sciences)

Dr Wolfram Bentz (Physics and Mathematics)


Outstanding External Grant Capture

The Circular Plastics Economy team (from 12 Departments across campus, led by FSE staff: Professor Carl Redshaw, Dr Chadra Kambhampati, Dr Pauline Deutz, Dr Sharif Zein, Dr Vicky Skoulou, Dr Will Mayes). 

The Energy Technologies Laboratory and Research Unit (Engineering) led by Professor Xudong Zhao (Engineering)


Outstanding Impact, Outreach or Engagement

Professor Brad Gibson (Physics and Mathematics)

The British Science Festival Team (Professor Mark Lorch, Sarah Birtwhistle, Charlotte Pinkerton and Phil Bell-Young)


Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversion and Inclusion

Dr Domino Joyce (Biology and Marine Sciences)

Professor Dan Parsons (Energy and Environment Institute).The judges also acknowledged the excellent leadership of Professor Gillian Greenway (Chemistry) who led the School of Mathematics and Physical Sciences in their successful Athena SWAN bronze award).


Early Career Researcher

Dr Prosanta Gope (Computer Science and Technologies)

Dr Guiqiang Li (Senior Research Fellow Engineering)

To read the nominations in full, please see the attached documents:

·         Learning and Teaching Awards 2019 nominations

·         Research Awards 2018/2019 nominations

Last updated