Professor Philip Lord Norton of Louth

Professor Philip Lord Norton of Louth

Professor of Government

Faculty and Department

  • Faculty of Business, Law and Politics
  • School of Politics and International Studies


Lord Norton of Louth (Philip Norton) has been described as the UK's greatest living expert on Parliament.

He is the Professor of Government, and Director of the Centre for Legislative Studies, at the University of Hull.

Lord Norton was appointed to his chair in 1986, making him at the time the youngest professor of politics in the UK.

He is the author or editor of 35 books, including The British Polity, now in its fifth edition and Politics UK, with Bill Jones, now in its ninth edition. He was elevated to the peerage in 1998.

He chairs the History of Parliament Trust and the Higher Education Commission, is President of the Study of Parliament Group and Editor of 'The Journal of Legislative Studies'.

Recent outputs

View more outputs


The 1922 Committee: Power Behind the Scenes

Lord Norton of Louth, P. (in press). The 1922 Committee: Power Behind the Scenes. Manchester: Manchester University Press

Book Chapter

Party Management

Lord Norton of Louth, P. (2020). Party Management. In A. Roe-Crines, & T. Heppell (Eds.), Policies and Politics Under Prime Minister Edward Heath (239-59). Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan.

Sir Anthony Eden

Lord Norton of Louth, P. (2020). Sir Anthony Eden. In I. Dale (Ed.), The Prime Ministers (383-388). London: Hodder & Stoughton

Journal Article

Is the Westminster System of Government Alive and Well?

Norton, P. (2022). Is the Westminster System of Government Alive and Well?. Journal of international and comparative law, 9(1), 1-24

The Conservative Nation Redivivus?

Norton, P. (2021). The Conservative Nation Redivivus?. The Political quarterly, 92(3), 420-427.

Research interests

legislatures, UK constitution, British government, British Conservative Party, parliamentary behaviour

Postgraduate supervision

Lord Norton welcomes enquiries from prospective PhD students interested in working in the following areas. - Legislative studies - Comparative legislatures - UK Parliament - Conservative Party Completed PhDs Since 2000: Ernest Darfour (2017), Wenbo Chen (2015), Webster Kameme (2015), Xingian Yan (2013), Louise Thompson (2013), Lucy Grant (2010), Pedram Saeid (2010), Mandana Naini (2010), Kaifala Marah (2010), Hassan Vakilian (2009), Jose Abel Rivera Sanchez (2001), Cristina Leston-Bandeira (2000).