Philip Norton

Professor Philip Norton, Lord Norton of Louth


Faculty of Business, Law and Politics

01482 465863

Lord Norton of Louth (Philip Norton) has been described as the UK's greatest living expert on Parliament.

He is the Professor of Government, and Director of the Centre for Legislative Studies, at the University of Hull.

Lord Norton was appointed to his chair in 1986, making him at the time the youngest professor of politics in the UK.

He is the author or editor of 32 books, including The British Polity, now in its fifth edition and Politics UK, with Bill Jones, now in its eighth edition. He was elevated to the peerage in 1998.


Research Interests

  • UK Constitution

  • Parliament

  • Conservative Party

  • Comparative legislatures

Research groups

  • Organiser of the Workshop of Parliamentary Scholars and Parliamentarians for the Political Studies Association's Parliaments study group

  • Director of the Centre for Legislative Studies at the University of Hull


Reform of the House of Lords, Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2017

Politics UK (with Bill Jones), 9th edition due 2018, Abingdon: Routledge, 2013

Parliament in British Politics, 2nd edition, Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013

The Voice of the Backbenchers. The 1922 Committee: the first 90 years, 1923-2013, London: Conservative History Group, 2013

Eminent Parliamentarians (ed), London: Biteback Publishing, 2012


Programmes taught on (2019)

Modules list

  • Approaches to Presidential Power in the USA

  • Comparative Legislatures

  • The Contemporary House of Commons

  • Parliament in the UK: Approaches to Reform

Research PhDs

Lord Norton welcomes enquiries from prospective PhD students interested in working in the following areas.

  • Legislative studies

  • Comparative legislatures

  • UK Parliament

  • Conservative Party

Completed PhDs

Since 2000: Ernest Darfour (2017), Wenbo Chen (2015), Webster Kameme (2015), Xingian Yan (2013), Louise Thompson (2013), Lucy Grant (2010), Pedram Saeid (2010), Mandana Naini (2010), Kaifala Marah (2010), Hassan Vakilian (2009), Jose Abel Rivera Sanchez (2001), Cristina Leston-Bandeira (2000).

Professional highlights

Academic qualifications

  • BA (Sheffield)

  • MA (Pennsylvania)

  • PhD (Sheffield)

  • Hon LLD (Lincoln)

External roles

  • Trustee, History of Parliament

  • Director of Studies, Hansard Society for Parliamentary Government

  • Chair, Higher Education Commission

  • Co-chair, Parliamentary University Group

Awards and accolades

  • Honorary Freeman, City of Kingston Upon Hull, 2016

  • Special Recognition for Political Studies Award, Political Studies Association, 2008

  • University Teaching Fellow, University of Hull, 2008-09

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts

  • Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences

Professional highlights

  • Chair, Commission to Strengthen Parliament (2000)

  • First chairman, Constitution Committee, House of Lords (2001-04)