Philip Norton

Professor Philip Lord Norton of Louth


Faculty and Department

  • Faculty of Business, Law and Politics
  • Department of Politics


Lord Norton of Louth (Philip Norton) has been described as the UK's greatest living expert on Parliament. He is the Professor of Government, and Director of the Centre for Legislative Studies, at the University of Hull. Lord Norton was appointed to his chair in 1986, making him at the time the youngest professor of politics in the UK. He is the author or editor of 32 books, including The British Polity, now in its fifth edition and Politics UK, with Bill Jones, now in its eighth edition. He was elevated to the peerage in 1998.


Politics UK

B. Jones, P. Norton, & O. Daddow (Eds.), (2018). Politics UK

Book Chapter

Relationship Between the Two Houses

Lord Norton of Louth, P., & Maer, L. (2018). Relationship Between the Two Houses. In A. Horne, & G. Drewry (Eds.), Parliament and the Law, 125-46. (2nd). Oxford: Hart Publishing

The Political Organisation of Parliament

Lord Norton of Louth, P. (2018). The Political Organisation of Parliament. In C. Leston-Bandeira, & L. Thompson (Eds.), Exploring Parliament, 15-23. Oxford: Oxford University Press (OUP)

Journal Article

Legislatures and the courts: the importance of place

Norton, P. (2017). Legislatures and the courts: the importance of place. Journal of international and comparative law, 4(2), 171-188

Power behind the scenes: The importance of informal space in legislatures

Norton, P. (2019). Power behind the scenes: The importance of informal space in legislatures. Parliamentary affairs, 72(2), 245–266.

Postgraduate supervision

Lord Norton welcomes enquiries from prospective PhD students interested in working in the following areas. - Legislative studies - Comparative legislatures - UK Parliament - Conservative Party Completed PhDs Since 2000: Ernest Darfour (2017), Wenbo Chen (2015), Webster Kameme (2015), Xingian Yan (2013), Louise Thompson (2013), Lucy Grant (2010), Pedram Saeid (2010), Mandana Naini (2010), Kaifala Marah (2010), Hassan Vakilian (2009), Jose Abel Rivera Sanchez (2001), Cristina Leston-Bandeira (2000).