Venn Building

University Leadership Team

The University Leadership Team (ULT) is the senior management decision-making body of the University.

Collectively, members are responsible for developing and implementing the vision and strategy of the University, providing academic and operational leadership, and acting as ambassadors to promote the University’s mission, activities and values.


The Vice-Chancellor is the chief executive officer and senior academic officer of the University, and is responsible to the University Council for maintaining and promoting the efficiency and good order of the University. The Vice-Chancellor chairs the University Leadership Team and Senate.

The Vice-Chancellor is a Director of the Humber Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP), a Director of Yorkshire Universities, a Vice-Chair of the Hull Business Leadership Board, and contributes through Universities UK (UUK) and other national bodies to higher education policy and practice – for example, as a member of UUK’s value of higher education advisory group.



The University’s Pro-Vice-Chancellors support the Vice-Chancellor in the strategic leadership, management, planning and coordination of the University’s academic endeavours.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors work closely with the Deans and Professional Service Directors to support the attainment of each area’s vision and performance objectives and coordinate their contribution to the University’s strategic plan. The Pro-Vice-Chancellors have responsibilities with regard to their specific portfolios, but also share in institutional management and lead and participate in pan-University projects.

Professor Becky Huxley-Binns

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education

Professor Becky Huxley-Binns

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) leads the University’s education strategy, providing oversight of curriculum and programme development and academic support to ensure that our students achieve excellent academic outcomes in terms of their progression, attainment, satisfaction and employability.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) oversees the scholarship of teaching and learning and higher education pedagogic research, and provides strategic leadership and management of our Teaching Excellence Academy and UK academic partnerships. The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) chairs the Higher Education Oversight Committee for the Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education and the Humber Board of the National Collaborative Outreach Programme (NCOP). She is also a member of the Humber Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) Employment and Skills Board.

Dr David Richards

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Enterprise

Dr David Richards

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise) is responsible for the development and implementation of the University’s strategies for research and enterprise, providing strategic leadership and management of research development, funding and governance, business engagement and commercialisation.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise) oversees the Doctoral College and the University’s interdisciplinary research Institutes and is the strategic lead for Aura, the University’s major collaborative programme with industry, academia and government to drive research, innovation and skills development in the offshore wind sector.

Professor Philip Gilmartin

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (International)

Professor Philip Gilmartin

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (International) leads the development and implementation of the University’s international strategy as a globally engaged civic institution.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (International) represents the University in international matters overseas and provides strategic leadership and management of our international partnerships, international recruitment and the Confucius Institute.


Chief Operating Officer

The Chief Operating Officer provides strategic leadership and management across the University’s professional services, including student and registry services, human resources and organisational development, student recruitment and marketing, information services (including the University Library), finance, strategic planning, estates, facilities and accommodation, and development and alumni relations.

University Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer

The University Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer is responsible for the good governance of the University and for assuring its compliance with all relevant legal and regulatory requirements.


Director of Finance

The Director of Finance is responsible for group finance, financial operations, business partnering, research and enterprise accounting, and procurement. Responsibilities also include the preparation of annual financial statements, financial plans and the timely reporting of financial control information.

Deans of Faculties

The Deans provide academic and strategic leadership and vision for their Faculty. They are the senior executive of their Faculty, and are accountable to the Vice-Chancellor for its effective, efficient and transparent leadership, management and administration.

Deans have overall accountability for their Faculty’s contribution to the delivery and promotion of the University’s vision, mission, strategic plans, objectives and key performance indicators.

Professor Lucy Mazdon

Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Cultures and Education

Professor Lucy Mazdon

The Faculty of Arts, Cultures and Education comprises:

  • School of The Arts
  • School of Education
  • Department of Criminology and Sociology
  • Department of English and American Studies
  • Department of History
  • Department of Languages and Philosophy

Professor Mazdon represents the University on the Board of Absolutely Cultured and the Culture and Place Strategic Advisory Group of the City Leadership Board.

Professor Stephen Hardy

Dean of the Faculty of Business, Law and Politics

Professor Stephen Hardy

The Faculty of Business, Law and Politics comprises:

  • Hull University Business School
  • The Law School
  • Department of Politics

Professor Paul Hagan

Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Paul Hagan

The Faculty of Health Sciences comprises:

  • Hull York Medical School
  • Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Department of Midwifery and Child Health
  • Department of Nursing
  • Department of Paramedical, Perioperative and Advanced Practice
  • Department of Psychological Health, Wellbeing and Social Work
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Sport, Health and Exercise Sciences

Professor Hagan leads the University’s engagement with the NHS, the broader health and social care sector and the promotion of health as an economic driver of the region.

Professor Andrew Heyes

Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering

Professor Andrew Heyes

The Faculty of Science and Engineering comprises:

  • Department of Biological and Marine Sciences
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Department of Computer Science and Technology
  • Department of Engineering
  • Department of Geography, Geology and Environment
  • Department of Physics and Mathematics


University employees and lay members of Council have a responsibility to respect and promote the financial and other interests of the University, with due regard to academic freedom.

There is a general duty on all members of staff and lay members of the University to disclose at the earliest possible stage any financial or other interest they may have in any transaction, or proposed transaction, between the University and a third party.

A Register of Interests is maintained and updated annually. If you wish to inspect the Register, please contact

Code of Conduct for Council Members

Code of Practice on the Registration of Interests

Contact us

University Leadership Team
  • University of Hull
  • Hull, UK
  • HU6 7RX